top of page

Obesity and Pregnancy

I started to become more interested in maternal health my senior year of college. In my Illness, Wellness and Healing class, I had to write a paper on a specific topic of health. I chose maternal health. As I did my research, I can across an abundance of information on maternal obesity. I have been enrolled in numerous health classes over the years and obesity is always an interesting topic to me. It's incredible how much our society suffers from obesity compared to even twenty years ago. I love learning about nutrition and health so I though incorporating all of my interests would be a great idea and fun for me to learn more about. I learned that women faced an abundance of issues that women of normal weight don't face due to their obesity. The extra weight can cause a variety of complications for both the mother and the fetus, during and after giving birth. These problems include gestational diabetes, high blood pressure, preeclampsia, preterm birth and can lead to a cesarean section delivery. Women who suffer from obesity and give birth via caesarian section have a greater chance of a surgical site infection than women of normal weight. S

tudies show that women with obesity breastfed for a shorter time period than women of normal weight. Women with obesity have a hard time with breastfeeding for various reasons. Whether they are physiological, behavioral, socio-cultural, psychological, medical, or a combination of these, women face difficulty completing this task.

bottom of page