top of page

Maternal Education within my Classes

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I am in the interdisciplinary studies program at Plymouth. For those of you that do not know, interdisciplinary studies program allows studies to take classes from different disciplines and collaborate them into a major that the school does not offer. It is such a unique program that has opened so many doors for so many students, and I highly recommend looking into it if your a student at Plymouth or your university offers it!

Since I am in the interdisciplinary studies program, I am in an array of classes currently. I am taking a class called illness, wellness, and healing. It talks about controversial health issues across the world. We often cover issues about maternal health. Global maternal health is a really interesting topic. I've learned that women sometimes don't know they are HIV positive until they have given birth. This results in the issue of the mother passing HIV onto her child. I learned that decades ago, women were dying after giving birth because the doctors would be working with cadavers, and then go and deliver babies without washing their hands, transmitting diseases. It's incredible the amount of information I have learned throughout my classes this year!

bottom of page